Concerto for flute (Macfarren c.1864) - flute & piano

choose options £0.00
(No reviews yet) Write a Review
MACFARREN, Sir George Alexander (1813 - 1887)
select options to display the cart price, then add to cart.
  • Movements: (1) allegro moderato (2) andante con moto (3) allegretto
  • Instrumentation: flute & piano
  • Difficulty Level: advanced [ UK grade 8-9]
  • Duration: cca. (1) 9:15 (2) 6:00 (3) 8:00
  • Genre: English Romantic
  • Format: Printed sheet music or digital PDF [63 pp]
  • Extras: mp3 play-alongs [zip size 33 MB]

A substantial three movement concerto for flute and orchestra by the 'English Mendelssohn', that is making a well deserved comeback into the flute repertoire after 150 years of neglect. The concerto is dedicated to John Radcliff (1842 - 1917) and requires good technical skills plus sound musicianship. It's first performance was given by Radcliff in London in 1864. Later it received at least two more performances including one in Australia at Gunsler’s Café, Victoria, in 1883.

[computer generated samples of all movements]