Sonata in G (c.1790) for flute & piano

choose options £0.00
(No reviews yet) Write a Review
GRAEFF, Johann Georg (1762 - 1829)
select options to display the cart price, then add to cart.
  • Movements: (1) Allegro (2) Adagio (3) Rondo
  • Instrumentation: flute & piano
  • Difficulty Level: Intermediate or above [ UK grade 6+ ]
  • Duration: (1) 3:00 (2) 2:40 (3) 3:10
  • Genre: Classical
  • Format: Printed Book of sheet music or digital PDF [20 pp]
  • Extras: mp3 play-along tracks [3 of 5.5MB]

This delightful sonata (opus 5 no.1) was composed c. 1790 - the same year that Mozart wrote Cosi Fan Tutte.
The three movements are an enjoyable mix of Classical styles, looking back towards CPE Bach in the poignant second movement and forwards to Rossini in the jolly 3rd movement - and the whole work is written over a figured bass, which has been realised for this edition by Roz Trubger.
J.G. Graeff (1762 - 1829) was a pupil of Haydn and a friend of Clementi and lived in England for most of his life.

This sonata is playable by a student of upper intermediate ability, but benefits from being performed by an advanced player.